65 women’s crime books on offer for new & re-joining members

Like many arts and literary organisations, Sisters in Crime faces a future of no income from our usual sources due to the coronavirus pandemic. Where possible, we will be hosting events online.

One way that you can help us survive in these uncertain times, is to join or re-join. The first 65 to do so will be sent a book kindly donated by the following publishers. Each publisher is donating five copies of the listed book. Publishers (and authors) are also doing it very tough so please considering buying one or more of these books – either from a bookshop, whilst they’re still open, or by going online.

To join or re-join, go to: https://www.sistersincrime.org.au/sisters-in-crime-membership/

Sisters in Crime currently uses Eventbrite as its membership platform. Your membership will run for 12 months from the date of purchase. We are unable to send your preferred books but if you already have any of these books, you can let us know via admin@sistersincrime.org.au  and we’ll make sure you don’t get them.

Allen & Unwin

Sujata Massey, Satapur Moonstone.

Lawyer-turned-sleuth returns in another fascinating Bombay mystery set a century ago. The highly anticipated follow-up to the critically acclaimed novel The Widows of Malabar Hill.  Finalist for the 2020 Sue Grafton Memorial Award; Winner of the Lefty Award for Best Historical Mystery Novel 2020 and many other awards

 

Clan Destine Press

L.A. Larkin, Prey

Four murders, four countries, one terrible secret.

Olivia Wolfe, the hero of Devour, is back.

She is described by Sue Turnbull in The Age as, “a new breed of female heroine bounding into the hitherto masculine preserve of the action thriller”.

 

Hachette

Tanya Bretherton, The Killing Streets

From the acclaimed author of The Suitcase Baby and The Suicide Bride, the story of a series of horrific murders that began in 1930s’ Sydney – and a killer who remained at large for over two decades. Police failed to notice the similarities between the victims until the death of one young woman – an aspiring Olympic swimmer – made the whole city take notice.

 

Pan Macmillan Australia

Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen, You Are Not Alone

Shay Miller has three strikes against her: no job, no apartment, no love in her life. After witnessing a perfectly normal looking young woman make the chilling decision to leap in front of an ongoing subway train, she comes under the spell of the Moore sisters and faces a deadly confrontation.

 

 

Pantera Press

Kimberley Starr, Torched

Set in a small town in the Yarra Valley, Torched is the story of school principal Phoebe Wharton and her son Caleb.

They survive a devastating bushfire only to be ripped apart by its aftermath when Caleb is accused of being the arsonist.

 

Penguin Random House

Jessica Moor, Keeper

A searing feminist thriller that asks what justice looks like in a system blinkered by prejudice. He’s been looking in the windows again. Messing with cameras. Leaving notes. Supposed to be a f***ing refuge. But Death got inside… The police say suicide. The women at the women’s refuge say murder.

 

 

Scribe Publishing

Robin Bowles, Death on the Derwent

The true crime account of Sue Neill-Fraser who was jailed for 26 years for the murder of her husband who disappeared off a yacht in Derwent.

But was the verdict unsafe? Many of Australia’s leading legal minds think so.

 

 

Simon & Schuster

Karina Kilmore, Where the Truth Lies

The feisty but flawed journalist, Chrissie O’Brian, is escaping a criminal past in New Zealand and is struggling to fit into a new country and a senior job at The Argus.  She soon suspects she has a big story on her hands: the death of a wharfie. 

 

Text Publishing

Anne Buist, The Long Shadow

This is a stand-alone psychological thriller, which tells the story of Isabel Harris, a psychologist and mum who moves to a rural town and quickly realises there’s someone there with trouble on their mind. She begins to believe the twenty-five-year-old mystery of a baby’s murder may be the key to preventing another tragedy.

 

Ventura press

Natasha Molt, Cutting the Cord

What happens when you try to escape the cult that raised you? Amira Knox is about to find out. For fans of Killing Eve and Red Sparrow, Cutting the Cord is the ultimate female thriller that proves terrorism comes in many forms – perhaps even hiding in your family.

 

 

Wakefield Press

Charlotte Jay, A Hank of Hair

Psychological thriller about hair obsession by the late Adelaide author Charlotte Jay, who won the Mystery Writers of America inaugural Edgar Allen Poe award in 1953, for Beat not the Bones.

 

 

Walker Books

Sarah Epstein, Small Spaces 

2019 Davitt winning YA book featuring  Tash Carmody has been traumatised since childhood, when she witnessed her gruesome imaginary friend Sparrow lure young Mallory Fisher away from a carnival. At the time nobody believed Tash, and she has since come to accept that Sparrow wasn’t real. Now fifteen and mute, Tash starts to see Sparrow again.

 

Wild Dingo Press

Julie Szego, The Trial of Farah Jama

 This books details the 2008 case of 21-year-old Farah Jama, a Somalia refugee who was sentenced to six years behind bars on the basis of contaminated DNA. It continues to rank as one of the worst miscarriages of justice in Victorian legal history. The books was by which was shortlisted for three awards including the Davitts in 2015.