Reviews

The Godmother

Author: Hannelore Cayre Publisher/Year: Black Inc./2019 Publisher Overview Meet Patience Portefeux, fifty-three, an underpaid French-Arabic translator who specialises in police phone taps. Widowed after the sudden death of her husband, Patience is wedged between the costs of raising her daughters and the nursing home fees for her ageing mother. She’s laboured for twenty-five years to

Read more

Where the Dead Go

Author: Sarah Bailey Publisher/Year: Allen & Unwin/2019 Publisher Overview A fifteen-year-old girl has gone missing after a party in the middle of the night. The following morning her boyfriend is found brutally murdered in his home. Was the girl responsible for the murder, or is she also a victim of the killer? But who would

Read more

Stalked: The Human Target: Stories of people pursued by stalkers and the devastating effects on their lives

Author: Rachel Cassidy Publisher/Year: Rockpool Publishing/2018 Publisher overview Stalked: The Human Target is a detailed account of the effects of stalking, which is experienced by a shockingly high proportion of the population. Celebrities like David Letterman and Madonna are the highest profile targets of stalkers, but ordinary people are also targeted, harassed and bullied. Rachel Cassidy,

Read more

Keep Calm and Kill the Chef

Author: Livia Day (Tansy Rayner Roberts) Publisher/Year: Twelfth Planet Press/2019 Publisher overview  Scones, tea, and a stabbing… When Tabitha Darling entered Cafe La Femme in a reality TV show hosted by an infamous “bad boy” Chef, she never expected to be a suspect in his murder. When Xanthippe Carides quit working in a cafe to

Read more

The Heartwood Hotel

Author: Kerry McGinnis Publisher Year: Michael Josephs/Penguin Random House Australia/2018 Publisher overview In the abandoned railhead town of Tewinga, now almost a ghost town, Lyn and Adam Portman struggle to keep the Heartwood Hotel afloat. Lyn loves her husband and longs to be a mother. But she’s kept busy caring for her elderly father, her

Read more

The Devil

Author: Nadia Dalbuono Publisher/Year: Scribe/2020 Publisher overview When Leone Scamarcio investigates the murder of a boy with demonic possession, who will win: Scamarcio or the Devil? On a cold and wintry Roman afternoon, a troubled young man, Andrea Borghese, is found dead in his parents’ apartment. The last people to seehim alive were five Roman

Read more

Cold Case Investigations

Author: Dr Xanthé Mallett Publisher/Year: Pan Macmillan Australia/2019 Publisher overview From the disappearance of the Beaumont children to the abduction of William Tyrrell to the double murder of Karlie Pearce-Stevenson and her daughter Khandalyce, Xanthé is determined to expose the truth to maximise dignity for both deceased victims and those left behind. Xanthé talks to

Read more

Circus Hearts 1: All The Little Bones

Author: Ellie Marney Publisher/Year: Bearded Lady Press/2018 Publisher Overview A teenage trapeze artist and an apprentice strongman on the run from a terrible crime… Seventeen-year-old Sorsha Neary’s life is changed in one night when she defends herself behind the vans of her family circus troupe. Now Sorsha and apprentice strongman Colm Mackay are travelling south,

Read more

Whitsunday Dawn

Author: Annie Seaton Publisher/Year: Mira/2018 Publisher overview With the pristine beauty of the Whitsundays under threat, can they expose the truth in time? Australian author Annie Seaton brings to life a new area of romance – Eco-Adventure. Perfect for fans of Di Morrissey. When Olivia Sheridan arrives in the Whitsundays as spokesperson for big mining

Read more

The Suicide Bride

Author: Tanya Bretherton Publisher/Year: Hachette Australia/2019 Publisher overview From the author of the acclaimed THE SUITCASE BABY – shortlisted for the Ned Kelly and Nib awards – comes the chilling story of a charlatan, a murder-suicide, and a family tree so twisted that it sprouts monsters. Whenever society produces a depraved criminal, we wonder: is

Read more