Loading Events

Past Events › Author Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

September 2020

Geelong Regional Libraries – Rachael Brown and Vikki Petraitis – Lawyer X

September 23, 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Free

Join Geelong Regional Libraries for this special preview event ahead of the 2020 Word for Word National Non-Fiction Festival. On the panel are ABC investigative reporter and creator of new podcast Trace 2: The Informer, Rachael Brown, and author of Cops, Drugs, Lawyer X and Me, award-winning true crime writer, Vikki Petraitis. They will be joined by self-confessed true crime obsessive and podcaster, Meshel Laurie. And Lawyer X is, of course, former gangland lawyer Nicola Gobbo, the person at the centre of…

Find out more »

Readings book launch: The Survivors by Jane Harper

September 29, 2020 @ 6:30 pm - 7:00 pm
Free

Join Readings' online launch of the highly anticipated new novel, The Survivors, from Jane Harper by fellow crime writer and Sisters in Crime convenor, Karina Kilmore. The Survivors tells the story of how Kieran Elliott’s life changed forever on the day a reckless mistake led to devastating consequences. Years later, a visit to his hometown with his young family causes guilt to resurface, and then a body is discovered on the beach… Set in Tasmania, The Survivors is the story…

Find out more »

February 2021

Meet the author: Sarah Thornton – Redcliffe Library (Brisbane) Rescheduled

February 20 @ 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Redcliffe Library, 476 Oxley Avenue
Redcliffe, Qld 4020 Australia
+ Google Map
Free

Join former corporate lawyer (and Sisters in Crime member) Sarah Thornton as she launches her second novel, White Throat (Text Publishing). (Rescheduled now that Greater Brisbane is no longer a 'red zone'.) Saturday 20 January, 2.30-3.30pm  Redcliffe Library, 476 Oxley Avenue, Redcliffe Disgraced former lawyer Clementine Jones returns in this tautly written thriller; follow-up to the Ned Kelly nominated Lapse. Free event. Bookings required*. Signed copies of Sarah’s book will be available for purchase at our event. "Clementine Jones is a heroine for…

Find out more »

March 2021

Readings event launch: Suzanne Frankham’s Shadow Over Edmund Street

March 22 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Rising Sun Hotel, cnr Raglan Street and Eastern Road
South Melbourne, Victoria 3205 Australia
+ Google Map

Readings  is delighted to announce that Lucy Sussex will be in conversation with Suzanne Frankham to celebrate the launch of Suzanne’s debut novel, Shadow Over Edmund Street (Journey to Words Publishing). Set in Auckland, Shadow Over Edmund Street is a thriller mystery that will keep you on your toes. Edwina’s death is brutal, with a silent killer who leaves no clues. Her murder seems unsolvable until a casual comment sends Inspector Alex Cameron and his seasoned team trawling through the dead…

Find out more »

BAD – Debra Oswald in Conversation

March 31 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
$10

Hear Debra Oswald talk about her psychological thriller The Family Doctor with Suzanne Leal. Book your ZOOM ticket now to watch the event online. Attendees will receive the ZOOM link by email the night before the event. If you’d like to buy a copy of The Family Doctor, Debra’s other books, or Suzanne Leal’s latest novel The Deceptions go to BAD's bookseller partner Booktopia. THE FAMILY DOCTOR GP Paula Kaczmarek is haunted by the shocking murder of her close friend Stacey and…

Find out more »

April 2021

Readings Zoom event: Robin Gregory in conversation with Philomena Horsley

April 14 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
$5

Readings is delighted to be hosting a conversation between crime author, Robin Gregory, and award-winning short story writer Philomena Horsley, about Robin’s debut novel, Traffic. Sandi Kent, Melbourne Private Investigator, has her hopes for an easy December dashed when two complicated cases crash into her lap, one from her volatile ex-girlfriend. As Sandi juggles the demands of her clients, she becomes embroiled in the city’s seamy underworld of sex trafficking, drugs and murder… Robin has worked as a social worker…

Find out more »

May 2021

Open invitation: Launch of Amy Suiter Clarke’s Girl, 11 (Carlton, Vic)

May 4 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The Collective, 139 Elgin St
Carlton, Vic 3053 Australia
+ Google Map
Free

Everyone is invited to Readings'  launch of  Amy Suiter Clarke’s debut novel Girl, 11, by R.W.R McDonald (author of The Nancys), Tuesday 4 May, 7pm, at The Collective, 139 Elgin Street, Carlton. In this thrilling debut for fans of Karin Slaughter and Riley Sager, a social worker turned true-crime podcaster investigates a decades-old serial killer cold case—only to unwittingly create new victims. Former social worker Elle Castillo is the host of a popular true-crime podcast that tackles cold cases of…

Find out more »

BAD Sydney – The Chase – Candice Fox in conversation

May 13 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
$10

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival presents Candice Fox in conversation with Michael Duffy about her latest book, which you really won’t be able to put down! This event will take place online on Thursday 13 May at 6pm, and tickets are just $10. Book HERE. Candice Fox is at the top of her form in The Chase. It is gripping from the first to the last line. When 653 violent human beings pour out from Pronghorn Correctional Facility into the Nevada…

Find out more »

Sherryl Clark author event: Red herrings and fishy clues (Vic)

May 20 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Newport Community Hub, 13/15 Mason St,
Newport, Vic 3015 Australia
+ Google Map
Free

What does it take to write an unforgettable crime novel? To celebrate the publication of her second crime novel, ' Dead and Gone', author Sherryl Clark is joined by Lucia Nardo to share what makes remarkable crime fiction; the ins and outs of plot, how to wrangle a series and keep track of characters and clues, and how Sherryl turned from writing children's books to deadly adult crime. This in conversation with Homegrown Hobsons Bay writers Sherryl and Lucia will…

Find out more »

June 2021

Robin Gregory – Author talk with Darebin Libraries

June 17 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Preston Library, 266 Gower St
Preston, Vic 3072 Australia
+ Google Map
Free

Hear from Robin Gregory about her novel, Traffic, the  first  in a series featuring Melbourne Private Investigator Sandi Kent. Sandi has her hopes for an easy December dashed when two complicated cases crash into her lap. First, she is hired by her sexy but volatile ex-girlfriend to rescue a young South Korean woman from an illegal brothel. And then – in a curiously parallel case – she’s engaged by a lawyer friend seeking defence angles for a Colombian immigrant charged with murdering…

Find out more »
+ Export Events