Australian crime writing

Save the date: Terror Australis Readers and Writers Festival – Friday 5 to Sunday 7 November

Following the phenomenal success of its inaugural festival in 2019, Terror Australis Readers and Writers Festival is coming back – Friday 5 to Sunday 7 November 2021 in Huonville, Tasmania. The festival will include a two-day panel session program and one day of professional development activities for writers. Program details to come. You can sign

Read more

Rural Crime Writing Festival!

The New England Writers’ Centre is proud to be hosting the very first of its kind, Rural Crime Writing Festival! Finishes off with a panel discussion with Emma Viskic, J P Pomare, Yumna Kassab, Benjamin Stevenson, Maryrose Cuskelly, and Dan Box, moderated by Carmel Shute from Sisters in Crime. Zoomed on Saturday 12 June. Tickets

Read more

Body in the Library: readings and 28th Scarlet Stiletto Awards launch

This year, the Scarlet Stiletto Awards offer over $11,000 in prize money for the best crime or mystery short stories. Since 2012, the Melbourne Athenaeum Library has sponsored the ‘Body in the Library’ Award, offering a $1250 prize to the winner and $750 to the runner-up. This partnership has seen the number of entries grow

Read more

Witness for the Prosecution: Supporting survivors of sexual assault

Sisters in Crime Australia is again proud to join forces with the Sir Zelman Cowen Centre, Victoria University, to present its 15th Law Week event. An expert panel – Louise Milligan, Jane Patrick, Michele Williams QC and Rachel Spencer – will discuss the experience of survivors of sexual assault and their journey through the Australian

Read more

Sherryl Clark author event: Red herrings and fishy clues (Vic)

What does it take to write an unforgettable crime novel? To celebrate the publication of her second crime novel, ‘ Dead and Gone‘, author Sherryl Clark is joined by Lucia Nardo to share what makes remarkable crime fiction; the ins and outs of plot, how to wrangle a series and keep track of characters and

Read more

Breathless Prose – Queenscliffe Literary Festival

Catch multiple Davitt winner (and Sisters in Crime stalwart) Emma Viskic and Josh Pomare in conversation with Jock Serong on Saturday May 15, 11am-12pm,  at Queenscliffe Literary Festival (regional Victoria) in a session called Breathless Prose about why Melbourne suits the crime genre so well. $25. Book HERE.  

BAD Sydney – The Chase – Candice Fox in conversation

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival presents Candice Fox in conversation with Michael Duffy about her latest book, which you really won’t be able to put down! This event will take place online on Thursday 13 May at 6pm, and tickets are just $10. Book HERE. Candice Fox is at the top of her form in The

Read more

Open invitation: Launch of Amy Suiter Clarke’s Girl, 11 (Carlton, Vic)

Everyone is invited to Readings’  launch of  Amy Suiter Clarke’s debut novel Girl, 11, by R.W.R McDonald (author of The Nancys), Tuesday 4 May, 7pm, at The Collective, 139 Elgin Street, Carlton. In this thrilling debut for fans of Karin Slaughter and Riley Sager, a social worker turned true-crime podcaster investigates a decades-old serial killer

Read more

Sisters in Crime at Clunes Booktown Weekend: Crime takes to the backroads – Interrogating Rural Noir

Crime does not just walk the mean streets of our cities. These days it is stalking the dusty backroads of the Australian bush. Authors Katherine Kovacic , Sandi Wallace and Lyn Yeowart discuss with Maggie Baron how and why the country is such an ideal scene of the crime – and the many insights that

Read more

Zipping on the zeitgeist: Q&A with Meg Mundell

The Trespassers, Meg Mundell’s first foray into crime fiction, is presciently set during a global pandemic, and tracks the deprivations and fears of passengers sailing from London to Melbourne as new infections break out on board. It won Sisters in Crime’s 20th Davitt Award (Best Crime Novel). Meg talked to Janice Simpson about how this

Read more